BJP chief ministers for Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan; who are they

Kohima: When his name was announced for CM, even Dr Mohan Yadav was said to be as surprised as others

BY | Wednesday, 13 December, 2023
Vishnu Deo Sai, Dr Mohan Yadav and Bhajan Lal Sharma (L to R)

Following the success in the assembly polls in the states of Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan, the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) has announced that Vishnu Deo Sai, Dr Mohan Yadav and Bhajan Lal Sharma as its choice for leading governments in the states as chief ministers.

Chhattisgarh: Vishnu Deo Sai

In Chhattisgarh, Vishnu Deo Sai will be taking oath as the Chief Minister on Wednesday at 4:00pm at the Science College Ground in the capital Raipur. The office of the CM informed that Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah will be attending the swearing-in ceremony of the new government.

Vishnu Deo Sai will be the second tribal to hold the position in the State. Born in 1964 to a farmer’s family in Bagia village of Jashpur district in Chhattisgarh, Sai began his political career as a village sarpanch (village head). In 1990, he contested the Assembly election from Jashpur district under the undivided Madhya Pradesh state and won. He retained his seat in 1994 but lost in 1998. The following year, he contested the Lok Sabha election and became a Member of Parliament. Sai was elected to the Lok Sabha in 2004, 2009 and 2014.

He served as Union Minister of State for Mines, Steel before returning to the State Assembly in 2023 from Kunkuri constituency in Jashpur district. On 10th December, to the surprise of many, Vishnu Deo Sai was chosen to be the next CM of Chhattisgarh.

Madhya Pradesh: Dr Mohan Yadav 

Dr Mohan Yadav was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh on Wednesday in the presence of PM Modi, Amit Shah, JP Nadda and others at Lal Parade Ground in Bhopal.

Born in 1965 in Ujjain, Dr Mohan Yadav hails from the Other Backward Classes (OBC) community. In his earlier days, he was a member of the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), the student wing of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS). He contested his first election in 2013 from Ujjain South constituency which he won and was re-elected in the 2018 Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly elections. In 2020, he was sworn in as a cabinet member of the Madhya Pradesh government and served as the State’s Minister of Education under the former Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan till 2023 before he won for the consecutive fourth time from Ujjain South.

When his name was announced for the position of CM, even Dr Mohan Yadav was said to be as surprised as others.

Rajasthan: Bhajan Lal Sharma

In Rajasthan, the BJP has picked a first time MLA to lead the massive State. The swearing-in ceremony is expected to take place on 15th December for Bhajan Lal Sharma and his government.

Bhajan Lal Sharma began involved in politics as a member of Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP). He later joined Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha and became the sarpanch of his village, Atari in, Nadbai, Bharatpur district, at the age of 27. He contested in the Rajasthan Assembly election in 2003 from Nadbai constituency but was unsuccessful. In 2023, he contested from Sanganer and won. On 12th December, Bhajan Lal Sharma was chosen to become the 14th Chief Minister of Rajasthan.

You cannot copy content of this page