GMS Orphanage Seithogei wins Inter-School Boys U16 Cricket Tournament 2024

BY | Monday, 25 March, 2024

The Inter-School Boys U16 Cricket Tournament 2024 organized by the Kohima District Cricket Association (KDCA) under the aegis of Nagaland Cricket Association concluded today with GMS Seithogei emerging as the Champions.

Six schools participated in the tournament which was held at T. M. Government Higher Secondary School Ground from March 22 to 25.  Bayavü Higher Secondary School emerged as the Runners up team.

In the 2nd Semi Final match, Bayavü Higher Secondary School played against Chandmari Higher Secondary School. Bayavü HSS won the toss and elected to bowl. Chandmari HSS scored 91/7 in the stipulated 20 overs. Kakiho scored with 22 runs and Lumjamo scored 10 runs for Chandmari HSS. Pasant took 3 wickets and Thejaneituo took 2 wickets.

In a nail-biting match which went down to the last ball of the match, Bayavü HSS were able to reach the target of 92 runs in exactly 20 overs with the loss of 6 wickets.

Nikugha scored 43 runs for Bayavü HSS. Kakiho took 2 wickets for Chandmari HSS.

Bayavü won the match by 4 wickets.

The Man of the match was awarded to Nikugha for scoring 43 runs.

The final match was played between Government Middle School Orphanage, Seithogei and Bayavü Higher Secondary School. GMS Seithogei won the toss and elected to bat. GMS Seithogei scored 166/3 in 25 overs. Imkongtemsu scored 39 runs, Epha scored 39 runs and Vizoletuo scored 28 runs for GMS Seithogei

Download Nagaland Tribune app on Google Play

In a completely one-sided match where the GMS Seithogei bowlers proved too good for the Bayavü HSS batsman, Bayavü HSS were bowled out for just 19 runs in 11.4 overs.

12-year-old fast bowler Dziesevotuo took 4 wickets and the 11-year-old leg spinning sensation Sangtsulen continued his good form and took  3 wickets.

GMS Seithogei won the match by 147 runs and were crowned Champions of the KDCA Inter-School Boys U16 Cricket Tournament. The Man of the match was awarded to Dziesevotuo for taking 4 wickets.

The closing program and trophy presentation was graced by Viketho Kechu, Chairman, Nagaland Cricket Association Men’s Selection Subcommittee.

Individual Awards for the Tournament

Player of the Tournament – Sangtsulen of GMS Orphanage, Seithogei

Best Batsman – Epha of GMS Orphanage, Seithogei

Best Bowler – Pukei Lamnyuo of Chandmari HSS

Best Wicketkeeper – Nikugha of Bayavü HSS

Champion – Government Middle School Orphanage, Seithogei

Runners up – Bayavü Higher Secondary School

You cannot copy content of this page