Leaders of India’s neighbours invited to attend swearing in of new Government on 9th June

New Delhi: Visit of leaders keeping with highest priority accorded by India to its ‘Neighbourhood First’ policy, says MEA

BY | Saturday, 8 June, 2024

The President of India will administer the oath of office and secrecy to the Prime Minister and other members of the Union Council of Ministers at 7.15 pm on June 09, 2024, at Rashtrapati Bhavan, a communique from the President’s Secretariat has informed. Narendra Modi will be sworn in as the Prime Minister for the third consecutive term after the NDA coalition secured majority in the elections to the 18th Lok Sabha.

On the occasion, leaders from India’s neighbourhood and Indian Ocean region have been invited to attend the swearing-in ceremony as distinguished guests, the Ministry of External Affairs said today. It also stated that the visit of the leaders is in keeping with the highest priority accorded by India to its ‘Neighbourhood First’ policy and ‘SAGAR’ vision.

Among the invitees, the President of Sri Lanka Ranil Wickremesinghe; President of Maldives, Dr. Mohamed Muizzu; Vice-President of Seychelles, Ahmed Afif; Prime Minister of Bangladesh, Sheikh Hasina; Prime Minister of Mauritius, Pravind Kumar Jugnauth; Prime Minister of Nepal, Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’; and Prime Minister of Bhutan, Tshering Tobgay, have accepted the invitation to attend.

MEA further informed that in addition to participating in the swearing-in ceremony, the leaders will attend a Banquet hosted by President Droupadi Murmu at Rashtrapati Bhavan, the same evening.

You cannot copy content of this page