Nagaland Dy CM Patton appointed BJP Co-incharge for Mizoram General Election

New Delhi: 9th Mizoram Legislative Assembly election to be conducted on 7th November

BY | Saturday, 14 October, 2023

The Bhartiya Janata Party has appointed Nagaland Deputy Chief Minister and senior BJP leader Yanthungo Patton as Election Co-incharge for the ensuing General Election in the state of Mizoram.

Arun Singh, National General Secretary and Headquarter Incharge, BJP declared the Organisational Appointment on 13th October 2023. Union Minister of Earth Sciences Kiren Rijiju has been appointed the Election Incharge while Anil Antony has been made the co-incharge.

Download Nagaland Tribune app on Google Play

Taking to X, Y Patton said that he was “Humbled and honored” by the appointment and expressed gratitude to Prime Minister, Home Ministry, BJP National President, BJP (Org.) National General Secretary and the entire leadership of the BJP “for the faith reposed in me”.

He also added that together with Rijiju and Antony, “our collective efforts will echo the aspirations of the people, aligned with our Hon’ble PM’s vision for a developed and inclusive India.”

Nagaland Deputy CM also informed on X that he had met with Union Minister Rijiju on Friday evening in Guwahati to discuss the forthcoming election in the Northeastern State and “other relevant issues.”

Patton had visited Mizoram to attend the induction ceremony of veteran politician and Speaker of Mizoram Assembly Lalrinliana Sailo to the party. “Sailo Ji’s vast political wisdom will undoubtedly strengthen our mission for Mizoram’s all-round growth,” Patton had stated while welcoming him to BJP.

MNF had denied a party ticket to Sailo for the 2023 election, however his leaving the party has been reported as a big blow to the ruling party in Mizoram.

The election to the 9th Mizoram Legislative Assembly will be conducted on 7th November and counting will be held on 3rd December. Mizo National Front (MNF), an ally of the BJP, is in power in Mizoram with Zoramthanga as the Chief Minister.

You cannot copy content of this page