PDA felicitates newly elected Wokha Town Councillors

Wokha: Patton calls for unified citizen support to propel developmental agendas forward

BY | Friday, 5 July, 2024

A felicitation programme was conducted today to honour the newly elected Wokha Town Councillors, who emerged victorious under the People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA) Alliance.

The event which was held at the Lotha Hoho, Conference Hall, Wokha witnessed the presence of key dignitaries including Y. Patton, Deputy Chief Minister; Mhathung Yanthan, MLA & Advisor for Agriculture and Dr. Chumben Murry, Advisor to CM & Sr. Vice President CEB NDPP, Nagaland.

In his address, Deputy Chief Minister Y. Patton congratulated the newly elected councillors and highlighted the enduring relation between the NDPP and BJP within the PDA Alliance. He reaffirmed the alliances’ commitment under Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio’s leadership, emphasising adherence to strict party protocols.

Download Nagaland Tribune app on Google Play

Patton cautioned against anti-party activities, citing the repercussions under anti-defection laws. He urged councillors to prioritise developmental projects, specifically mentioning enhancements to the district hospital road and proposing solutions for parking issues in Wokha. Patton called for unified citizen support to propel developmental agendas forward, assuring collaboration from the elected MLA for cohesive progress of Wokha Town.

Dr. Chumben Murry, in his address, commended the successful conduct of the 2024 ULB Election after a 20-year hiatus, highlighting the district’s peaceful electoral process. He urged the councillors to work collectively towards community advancement.

Mhathung Yanthan, MLA & Advisor for Agriculture, extended his congratulations to the newly elected councillors, emphasising their pivotal role in fostering community unity and development.

The programme was chaired by John Ezung, President NDPP Wokha Region, invocation followed by the chairperson’s opening remarks and welcome address.

The elected councillors then introduced themselves before the gathering. A dedicatory prayer was offered by Y. Chumbenthung Murry, Assistant Pastor of WTBC. Short speeches were delivered by Khozamo Lotha, WTC representing NDPP, and Nzano P. Kikon, WTC representing BJP, conveying their aspirations and commitments to the constituents, special number delivered by Sojano Tsopoe, after which L. Zaremo Kikon, President BJP Wokha Unit, extended the vote of thanks and benediction.

You cannot copy content of this page