Champai Soren sworn in as Jharkhand’s sixth Chief Minister

Ranchi: Satyanand Bhokta of RJD and Alamgir Alam of Congress take oath as Cabinet Ministers

BY | Friday, 2 February, 2024

Jharkhand has a new Chief Minister after over 24 hours of being without one. After much wait and speculations, Champai Soren was sworn in by Governor C P Radhakrishnan at the Raj Bhavan on Friday. He takes over the reins from Hemant Soren who had resigned from the post just before being arrested by the Enforcement Directorate on Wednesday night.

Hemant Soren, the son of former CM Shibu Soren, is being held for alleged involvement in money laundering case.

On Thursday, the alliance of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and Congress was gripped by shocked when the Governor did not invite Champai Soren to form the government despite of them having a majority. Fearing that their MLAs may switch sides, the legislators are being flown to Hyderabad.

After the swearing-in, Champai Soren, who is not related to the former CMs, assured that his government will continue to work in the interest of the general public of the state.

“We will work to speed up the basic beginning that our coalition government has made under the leadership of Honorable Hemant Soren ji and the schemes that have been started for the all-round development of the tribals, indigenous people and common Jharkhandis,” the new CM stated.

He claimed that their tribal CM Hemant Soren was “deposed by a conspiracy against him” but vowed that these conspiracies will be exposed and try to take the state on the path of development.

Read more: Hemant Soren arrested by ED soon after he resigns as Jharkhand CM

“Our effort will be to bring on the ground the ideals of all the martyrs including Lord Birsa Munda, Sido-Kanhu and Baba Tilka Manjhi and bring about a change in the standard of living of the tribals, indigenous people, Dalits and common citizens of the state,” Champai Soren, the sixth CM of Jharkhand, added.

On Friday, Satyanand Bhokta of RJD and Alamgir Alam of Congress also took oath as Cabinet Ministers.

You cannot copy content of this page