INDI Alliance hold ‘Save Democracy’ rally at Ramlila Maidan in New Delhi

New Delhi: This election not just to form government, but to save the country, to protect the Constitution: Rahul Gandhi

BY | Sunday, 31 March, 2024

The INDI Alliance (Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance) held the ‘Loktantra Bachao’ (Save Democracy) maha rally, at the Ramlila ground in New Delhi on Sunday ahead of the General Election 2024 to the 18th Lok Sabha.

“’Save Democracy Mega Rally’ shows unity in diversity. We all have united to save the country, democracy and the Constitution”, Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge had declared in his address.

At the rally, the leaders reiterated concerns of the Democracy in India being threatened and accused the BJP of planning to change the Constitution if it retains power. The leaders also condemned in unison the alleged use of governmental agencies such as Enforcement Directorate (ED), Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) and the Income Tax (IT) Department by the “dictatorial” BJP to intimidate leaders of Opposition Parties and take “revenge” on those who do not budge.

The INDI Alliance leaders further demanded the release of Delhi Chief Minister and National Convenor of Aam Admi Party (AAP) Arvind Kejriwal and the former CM of Jharkhand Hemant Soren who are in jail.

“What kind of election is this… where leaders are being threatened, governments are being toppled and Chief Ministers are being put in jail,” Congress leader Rahul Gandhi said in his address. He also alleged the BJP government of attempting “match fixing” in the ensuing elections with the goal “to snatch the Constitution from the hands of the people of India.”

“This election is not just an election to form a government, it is an election to save the country, an election to protect the Constitution,” Gandhi added.

The other issues highlighted during the ‘Save Democracy’ rally were price rise, unemployment, farmers’ demand for Minimum Support Price (MSP) and caste census.

The other speakers at the rally included: Uddhav Thackeray, Shiv Sena (UBT); Mehbooba Mufti, Jammu & Kashmir People’s Democratic Party; Dipankar, CPIML; Khurram Umar, Indian Union Muslim League; D Raja, Communist Party of India; Kalpana Soren, JMM leader and wife of Hemant Soren; Tejaswi Yadav, Rashtriya Janata Dal; Derek O’Brien, Trinamool Congress; Former Chief Minister of J&K Farooq Abdullah, JKNC; Akhilesh Yadav, Samajwadi Party; Sharad Pawar, Nationalist Congress Party; Priyanka Gandhi Vadra; Sitaram Yechury, CPI-M; and, Punjab CM Bhagwant Mann. Tamil Nadu CM MK Stalin could not attend the rally but his speech was read out by DMK MP Tiruchi Siva.

You cannot copy content of this page