Two CRPF personnel killed at Bishnupur in Manipur; CM Biren Singh condemns

Imphal: Kuki Inpi Manipur accuses Meitei insurgent groups for attack on IRBn camp

BY | Saturday, 27 April, 2024

Two CRPF personnel were killed in Naranseina area in Manipur’s Bishnupur district around 1:00 am on Saturday when armed militants attacked the on IRBn (India Reserve Battalion) camp.

While requesting the District Magistrate, Bishnupur to depute one Executive Magistrate for inquest over the dead bodies and allowing video coverage of the post-mortem examination, the Officer-in-Charge, Moirang Police Station reported the names of the deceased as N. Sarkar (55 years) from Kokrajhar district in Assam and Arup Saini (40 years) from Bankura district in West Bengal.

The OC stated that “a group of suspected kuki militants and their supporters who are armed with sophisticated weapons along with bomb fired upon the security personnel of CRPF, B-128 B, who are deployed at the western side of 2nd RB HO. Naranseina Mnaing and the security personnel’s also retaliated and the firing took for about 40/50 minutes.” The OC reported that some CRPF personnel were seriously injured in the encounter and had been evacuated to the hospital for medical treatment.

Chief Minister N Biren Singh has strongly condemned the assault and remarked that such actions demonstrate cowardice. He also said that the sacrifice of the CRPF personnel will not go in vain.

Meanwhile, the Kuki Inpi Manipur, the apex body of the Kuki tribe in Manipur, accused the Meitei insurgent groups for attack on the IRBn camp that has left two CRPF personnel dead and several injured


“.. the Kuki Inpi Manipur vehemently condemns such act of terrorism against the Central Security Forces who are providing safety and security for the people”, it stated in a press release.

The Kuki tribal body also slammed certain media for pointing finger at the ‘Kuki Village Volunteers’ for the attack without “thorough investigation and verification of facts”.

This latest report of violence comes a day after Lok Sabha polls for Outer Manipur and the remaining assembly constituencies of Inner Manipur were conducted.

You cannot copy content of this page